What's PGP/OpenPGP/GPG?

what is pgp and what we can do with it?
(sorry being noob, im new in this world)

3 Likes

PGP (as meaning is Pretty Good Privacy) is a way to encrypt messages online like to encrypt emails, texts, files (not just these but is a good example to use) used to share private information. Also, its closest to military-grade encryption known.
You’ll generate two types of keys: public and private. The public key is which you’ll give to someone send a email for u (as example) and the private key you’ll keep with you which will be possible to decrypt the email.

e.g.:
Public Key (who’s sending the email for you) > Private Key (which u’ll not share with anyone)
Plain Text > Encrypted Text > Plain Text (decrypted with private key by u)

Summing up: Public Key > encrypt (thats the key which u’ll share with the people),
Private Key > decrypt (this key u’ll keep with urself, dont share with anyone NEVER if u want to keep ur privacy)

It can be confused now but if you encrypt a text (as example) with ur private key and put in the internet, the people will can decrypt the text with ur public key, so its like two keys and one is used to encrypt and the other can be decrypted, so thats why u need to keep the Private Key(one key) with urself and dont share with anyone NEVER.

4 Likes

You basically describe asymmetric encryption/decryption (also called public-key cryptography). This isn’t a unique property of PGP but also used by other crypto software/protocols like some TLS protocols, Bitcoin, ZRTP (VoIP), or S/MIME.

PGP itself is more a cryptographic toolbox. Actually, there is:

• PGP (as mentioned by roe): This is proprietary software, originally developed by Phil Zimmermann (American cryptographer). Today, Symantec owns PGP.
  • OpenPGP: An open standard, introduced several years after PGP was made. (See https://tools.ietf.org/html/rfc4880 and other RFCs). OpenPGP specifies the use of different algorithms like SHA-1, AES-128, or RSA for e-mail security.