What is your PGP setup?

Speaking to a few people on matrix, I have found that people have very different, but very innovative setups for PGP. So, I thought, what do the other people of the privacytools forum have as a setup?

1 Like

Till very recently pgp with brew. Now gpgtools w/o the mail part. A lot easier now than terminal-only.

edit: just added one word

1 Like

I use it with Seahorse. https://www.openpgp.org/software/seahorse/

I use gpg4win as my main PGP software and testing PGP Desktop.

2 Likes

I’ve generated a PGP key on the Linux terminal, but that’s about it. Can you perform all of the same functions as a program like Seahorse or GPG? (I imagine you can; I just haven’t done it yet.) To be honest, I’m still learning the terminal and haven’t mastered it yet.

I didn’t like any of the GUI’s for key management, and some had limitations (ie. no 4096bit keys) so I resorted to the command line for creating and managing keys.
Other than that, mailvelope is pretty cool for webmail when I’m not using protonmail.
It’s super easy to use.

Sorry forgot the link https://www.mailvelope.com/en/

Don’t let the lame website fool you, it’s pretty neat.

1 Like

I apologize for thread necromancy but I was asked to post in this by request.

My PGP setup consists of a Talos II OpenPOWER Workstation and a “Redzone” made from an old Lenovo T400 laptop equipped with a Chaoskey and with a patched kernel that had its options set to distrust the CPU RNG. Depending on which secret keys I am using I may use between four or five separate Yubikeys, including one for my root certifying key, one for my personal certifying key and another for its subkey, and possibly more for other purposes or short-lived keys. The Redzone is only used by request only and has had its microphone, speakers, camera, bluetooth, and networking cards physically removed and glued shut. It is only powered on when running on battery power.