What is the best privacy-respecting linux distro for new users?

• Ubuntu
  • Ubuntu MATE
  • Linux Mint
  • Elementary OS
  • Fedora
  • Other (comment below)

0 voters

None of the linux distros listed on this site were user-friendly towards beginners, except maybe trisquel, which nobody even knows about and probably isn’t supported well. I’m not a beginner, but it’s not a good idea to encourage first time users to install QubesOS or Debian as their first distro.

I would say Ubuntu, it seems to have the best support and mind-share (wrt new users) out of the major distros.

I would also recommend DietPi for people who are new to linux but want a headless setup (DIY home NAS, media server, Pi-hole filter etc.). They have a really good set of CLI tools to automate all the management issues (you still have to be moderately comfortable with linux CLI tho).

i voted Mint, but with reservations - i think Manjaro would be as good of a choice overall, but i’m really not that familiar with all the trendy distros, nor which is best from a privacy POV

Any GNU/Linux distribution that doesn’t use SystemD, since SystemD uses Google DNS by default. Devuan is the best choice.

1 Like

All of these distros are excellent choices for beginners, and four are all based on Ubuntu. With those four, it comes down to aesthetics and workflow because they all respect user privacy. I use ElementaryOS and it has a Privacy section in settings which allows you to completely disable location services, customize firewall, and disable any history keeping on some apps. I have used the other distros listed, but don’t remember how their privacy settings looked.

I voted Fedora.

Ubuntu is nice, but corporate funded and does (used to?) come with Amazon built into it.

I voted for Elementary because the UI/UX is really user friendly imo. But I’d vote for Pop!_OS by System76 over that due to Pop just working, overall in usability and functionality, and being privacy-forward.

1 Like