Use TOR like a normal browser

Hi, I wanted to ask a question about TOR, being a beginner I don’t know all the mechanisms, I state that I’m more interested in improving security than privacy, and excuse my English, I’m using Google translator.
I’m interested in increasing the security of my internet browsing, and I’m interested in TOR, right now I’m using Firefox with the changes to the about:config and the privacy addons written on Privacytools, now I tell myself if I install TOR that has already of his the changes to the about:config, and I personalize it with the privacy addon, at the level of fingerprinting it would become as if I were using Firefox, I guess.
So why do I want to use TOR?
The reason is because I save my work on the about:config :laughing: , and I am interested in the .onion versions of the sites I visit, such as SearX, if I understand correctly, they are better at the security level of the clearnet HTTPS versions.
Leaving aside the real reason why TOR exists, that of having a not-unique fingerprinting, my doubt is whether it is more insecure to use TOR in this way because of how it works, than using Firefox. :thinking:
I hope I was clear.

1 Like

what about use firefox (with more than profile) for your habits like watching netflix (in streaming firefox profile) & do other websites in tor (like news websites & other websites)

TOR is more private than Firefox, but in order for it to work properly, you can’t change any settings or install any addons. Also, you should never login to any accounts (including Netflix) when using Tor, as it could expose your real IP address and your real name.

Use Firefox for social media and watching netflix, and use Tor for general web browsing.

1 Like