Tutanota for business use? Any alternatives with zero access encryption besides ProtonMail and mailbox.org?

I am a freelancer, and customers send me sensitive information via email. Because of that, I want to start using an email provider with zero access encryption.

Tutanota seems to offer the most bang for the buck, but whenever I go to their subreddit there are people complaining that they are not receiving emails. That, to me, could mean losing business, and I guess I wouldn’t even know that it was happening.

Has anyone here experienced this while using Tutanota?

The best option overall seems to be ProtonMail, but it’s also the most expensive one.

Another option is mailbox.org, but it seems to be the most finicky one when it comes to encryption. I’d have to enable inbox encryption, then Guard so I can decrypt messages on the webmail interface, then download K-9 Mail on Android and setup my PGP key, and I guess I’d have to unencrypt messages one by one. It seems unpractical.

Are there any other options with reasonable pricing? What I really need from an email provider is:

• Inbox with zero access encryption
  • An easy to use mobile app like Tutanota’s and ProtonMail’s
  • Ability to use custom domains (preferably two or more, but just one is fine too)

Please share your recommendations and opinions about this! Thank you all!

when it comes to work i think proton is more like a pro for work or you can host your own i think!

1 Like

You should have bought protonmail lifetime account before when it got offsale

Just our opinion: There is no “zero-access encryption.” This is a marketing term, introduced by ProtonMail. You likely just want “end-to-end encryption.”

In the case of ProtonMail, Tutanota, and Mailbox Guard, the mail server providers store your decryption key in some form. The benefit is that you can log in from different devices without managing the decryption keys yourself. You still need to manage your password, though.