Software that automatically check for available updates

I’m looking for a software that automatically scan my PC’s installed apps to check if there are updates available. Do you guys know/use anything like that?

Edit: I’m using both Windows and Ubuntu so it would be great to have solutions for both systems.

1 Like

yes there is, its done with a command called sudo apt update :wink:

3 Likes

There are several such programs for Windows. I don’t use any, because I’ve been burnt more than once by “upgrades” that actually downgraded something. You cannot trust anymore upgrades to be upgrades.

Thank you! I’m new to Linux so there are still lots to learn. :sweat_smile:

1 Like

Can you tell me some programs you know?

Have a look here.

I have just installed Soft Organizer Pro, which is an uninstalling program. It has a feature to detect updates. However, it only finds 4 programs with pending updates on my system, which sounds highly unlikely to me. (Actually, I know my pdf editor is not up to date, and it’s not in the list. So the feature does not work.)

1 Like

Wouldn’t you be better off with a program like Bulk Crap Uninstaller, wich is foss.
And most programs automatically searches for updates or you can do this manually…

Actually, I use Revo Uninstaller Pro. I installed Soft Organizer Pro to test it.

I don’t defer to the cult of open source. Many of the best programs are closed source.

Most of my programs require me to update manually. Some programs I use less frequent than others so I sometimes forget to update them. I think it’s better if there is a tool to check for updates for me.

most of the major, mainstream, desktop variants of Linux based OSs that i am aware of check for updates automatically without having to install anything, including updates to the OS as well as all of the installed packages

i’m certain Debian/Ubuntu does this - i know MInt does and i know Manjaro does