New to privacy! I would like to learn

Hello to all! Newbie here and I’m looking forward to learn as much as I can. To be honest, it has been quite mentally and emotionally challenging, but I want to fight this fight.

As of the moment the only devices I have are Apple. I really would like to use GrapheneOS but I am unable to get a Pixel anytime soon. I would love to hear everyone’s thoughts on the feasibility of privacy on iOS. I’ve done some reading around and apparently Apple ‘sandboxes’ all applications and that’s a good thing? But, I also know that iOS isn’t open-source so I’m really gambling here aren’t I?

Regarding my threat model, I guess I want to be private as much as possible. I want my thoughts to myself, I want to protect human integrity and creativity and know that my data isn’t being mined to feed some algorithm that boxes me in some echo chamber. This is something I truly have a deep existential connection with. I understand that in this day and age this will be tough.

The pressure is intensified all the more because distanced learning leaves me prey to Google products.

With all that said, I am here and I’m all ears. I look forward to you all. :grin:

2 Likes

Hi, welcome to the forums!

As you already pointed out, preserving privacy in the current era is a very challenging and tiring process. I recommend taking it easy and one step at the time, to avoid getting burnt out with too many options or too many “inconveniences”, workarounds, etc, that you’ll have to get used to. It’s a long-term play, so again take it easy and tackle one issue at the time.

Most of what you can do is a matter of changing certain habits, and goes beyond what phone you’re using (although I recommend something like GrapheneOS or LineageOS). Here are a few pointers, and please I insist, for your own piece of mind remember you are not supposed to do all of this at once!

1. Try shopping less online and use more cash instead, whenever possible.