Is it possible to familiarize with Linux in this way?

Is it possible to familiarize with Linux using a really light linux distribution like one of these: Tiny Core/Puppy Linux/Lubuntu/Trisquel Mini/Linux Lite?

Whats the difference of the terminal of these linux distributions that are light and the popular distributions like Ubuntu/Linux Mint/Archlinux? Or are the terminal the samething in every linux distribution(commands, configuration)?

1 Like

I am not a linux pro by any means, but if you want to learn linux I would get a Raspberry Pi and install DietPi on it.

A RPi allows you to have a testbed where you can experiment and learn without messing up you main device. It’s also easy to format the SDcard with a clean image if your install goes haywire.

I like DietPi because it has a bunch of useful tools to get you accustomed to CLI linux. It makes it easy to install various home server services (NAS, media server, torrent client) that work well on the RPi. I find that getting results helps the learning experience. It’s also based on Rasbian/Debian, so you get to learn how Debian works.

AFAIK there can be significant differences in the terminal experience of different Distro families, but my experience is limited to Debian derived distros, so don’t take my word on it.

1 Like

You can use terminal in any Unix-like OS, not just GNU/Linux. Most of the commands are same, except for package managers and system management. Arch, Fedora, openSUSE, Debian are probably major distros. Others are variations of these system. Some are independent like Gentoo, NixOS. There is no recommendation for “terminal familiarization” per se.