Help regarding Linux flavours

So, I’ve been using Debian for about six months now, and my experience has been terrible. I now this is just a thing related to me, not that the operative system is bad or anything, I love it and I would love to return to it in a year or two when I have more experience with the Linux world so that I don’t fuck it up as I’ve been doing it.

I had to reinstall completely Debian three times since it started to crash like hell because (I guess?) while trying to install software which isn’t on their app store, or updating software that is on their store (since they are so insistent on stability that they only offer Firefox’s ESR; for fuck’s sake), I destroyed in some way the functionality of it. That, plus there isn’t as many tutorials for beginners as in the case of Ubuntu, for example, so it makes me feel more and more lost. And I also while I think that if you are using KDE Plasma or maybe even Gnome, you can get a more or less decent looking GUI, it’s not so good looking as ElementaryOS.

I’ve tried ElementaryOS (in fact I’m writing on a virtual machine running it) and I have fallen in love with the GUI, and the application store is much more decent and covers more than what Debian does, but still I have a few doubts about switching to it or not.

Is Trisquel more privacy conscious since they build only on libre software? Would that be relevant if I need to run private software anyways for gaming? Do you think Elementary covers the basics of Linux gaming compared to Debian (which is okay to me)?

Basically I think my two best options regarding privacy and usability are switching to Trisquel and installing Pantheon desktop environment (which is what EOS uses, but I think it’s not so stable), or switching to Elementary OS.

Dont overbuy on Linux politics. I mean the ideas are solid but they demand too much breakage on their ideals (no proprietary codes, no DRMs, etc.