Hello & Intro

Hello, all. Dan here.

Probably like many here, I saw the Great Hack a couple years ago. I soon after donned my tin foil hat and proceeded to remove all the googly and facebooky stuff from my life while leaving friends and family scratching their heads… and I’m loving it.

I ditched Mark, Bill, Sundar, and all their band of merry gazillionaires for the likes of Stallman, Gabriel, and Gargron. Even though I’ve managed to learn how to flash ROMs and use some Bash CLI tools somewhat decently, I’m still a noob and am looking for some smart folks to chat with and get tips.

So, me… middle aged, couple kids, pretty boring, probably not what I would expect at a place like this (which I assume to probably be young and hip?). I guess since I can’t afford a new firebird, this can be my mid life crisis activity.

Anyway. Thanks for reading. After I search the threads a little more, I’ll see if I can come up with something new to talk about.

Salud!

2 Likes

Welcome Dan!

2 Likes

Hello Dan. Not a lot of people take the time to introduce themselves thank you for that, it brings more humanity to my flat screen :slight_smile:

Hope you’ll find what you are looking for and you’ll learn what you didn’t know you needed.

1 Like

Great intro, especially the firebird moment :smile:

Young and especially hip ones are much less concerned about privacy, because their life is intertwined with social networks from the early days. Considering that humanity, having gained the ability to communicate at the speed of light with any inhabitant of the Earth, is moving towards a super-society, like collective insects, the concept of privacy itself will die out along with people born in the pre-internet era.

1 Like

@Karabanov