Does Tor always log you out everywhere whenever u restart it?

im considering using Tor as a browser even though im a newbie, but i would find it impractical having to log in on every site whenever i quit and re-open the browser, if that’s how it works.

1 Like

Yes, it’s set to “Private Browsing” by default and I don’t think that can be disabled in the browser settings. Maybe someone else here will be able to chime in with some info about that, @blacklight447?

1 Like

yup its delete data to save your privacy (if tracking cookies came) but maybe you can change this settings

Does Tor always log you out everywhere whenever u restart it?

Technically, the Tor Browser doesn’t log you out. Technically (and in every web browser), you get cookies from a web application after logging in. This (session) cookie contains information proving that you logged in before. Your client sends these cookies with each request to the server, the server looks at it and reacts accordingly. If you delete such cookies on the client side, your proof is gone and the server assumes that you didn’t log in before. This is basically how authentication works on the internet.

In case of Tor Browser, “Private Browsing” is enabled. This means that Tor Browser deletes all cookies (and other local data) as soon as you close it. See also https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb/private-browsing-use-firefox-without-history. This isn’t a unique feature of Tor Browser, but standard configuration that comes with Firefox and other web browsers. Private Browsing only removes local data on your machine. There is no gain in privacy on the server side.

2 Likes

Hey, Mr Handbook,

I have now completed a thorough reading of your site, and can confirm it’s very good.

The only drawback is, you’re showing 2FA (and some other security and privacy-related technologies) as being even more difficult to master correctly than I thought – and that’s a tall order…

Keep up the good work.

2 Likes