Created small app to encrypt and decrypt text!

Hey folks,
i just created little python script to encrypt and decrypt words using AES256bit using openssl. im new at python so it run fine on my linux but im sure you will get some errors because packages and all of that so please while using it tell me what errors you got to try list them in readme file
Thanks!

1 Like

How do you see it being used, in what context

Some feedback:

1. Coding style: In general, your functions (encrypt and decrypt) should not be included in your try block. In your current code, there is no reason for defining any functions. Your line length should not exceed 79 characters in Python. See also https://www.python.org/dev/peps/pep-0008/. You also don’t need to write myDataFile.close() because with open(filename, mode = READ) as myDataFile : automatically closes the file for you. In with open(filename, mode = READ) as myDataFile : you don’t need to define the mode since read is the default. And why did you choose float for userSelect if you expect int as an input?
  2. Error checking: For instance, there seems to be no check for the missing file. So what happens if a user selects 2 but there is no file? In general, you should use small try-except blocks around critical operations like file I/O operations. Do not put everything in the same try block.
  3. OpenSSL: You are using the -k parameter here, which seems to be deprecated. OpenSSL suggests using -pass, however, your password (the input by the user) is then exposed to the system. So other software on the same machine could see the user’s password. Then, the CBC mode of AES already has some known weaknesses. One other question: Why are you using OpenSSL instead of dedicated Python 3 crypto modules?
  4. No input validation: You assume that the user only enters the password and some text. What happens if the user enters special characters like ', | or "? What happens if the user enters actual Linux commands?