Backup KeePassXC when Opened/Saved/Closed in Linux

Hi,

I’m using latest KeePass version in Windows now. It has a trigger “Backup your database when you open KeePass”. I modified it to backup database when opened, saved, closed with timestamp suffix.

I don’t know how to make the same in Linux with KeePassXC. My friend advise me to use Git. But this solution is not good for my situation with some search.

Can anyone advise?

PS: KeePassXC has a backup file with .old extension suffix before saving.

1 Like

Isn’t that .old.kdbx file enough for you?

It’s not enough.

I have 1,000 ~ 3,000 backup files per month with KeePass in Windows now.

use gitlab for private repo or github lunched new private ones too! or even better host gittea and make it private and host your files there

I’m new in Linux.

Must run Git command after change in database to force it sync.

Does any solution for automatic as in Windows?

Thanks

try bat files ? also same on linux (not run bat but add shorted cmd) in that file called .bashrc you can write your cmd and short it as sync (Example: alias newpython=“alias python=python3.8” It switch my python version to 3.8 instead of 2.7)

I don’t thinks this creates any benefit, if the file would update is undertandable but I don’t see the point in creating thousands of new file.

Nevertheless I don’t think using Git is bad idea but you would need to understand some basic commands. Still I don’t see the point, if you are creating so many accounts per week it’s playing against you in terms of privacy. Minimalism is a rule. And if you are not creating them I don’t see the point on so many backups, the PM already asks you if you want to save if you have made some changes to the DB.

1 Like

Thanks Esmail EL BoB

try bat files ? also same on linux (not run bat but add shorted cmd) in that file called .bashrc you can write your cmd and short it as sync (Example: alias newpython=“alias python=python3.8” It switch my python version to 3.8 instead of 2.7)